Unable to embed PDF file to Office 2010 Word (64Bit)

Encounter one issue today that I think I will think twice before I install Office 2010 onto another machine (maybe for next few months before the fix is ready by either Adobe or Microsoft)

What happen is I tried to insert object (PDF) to my word document that is Office 2010 64bit version and it keep prompting me error message as below.

"The program used to create this object is AcroExch. That program is either not installed on your computer or it is not responding. To edit this object, install AcroExch or ensure that any dialog boxes in AcroExch are closed."

I was thinking that it might be Adobe issue so I uninstalled and reinstalled with new version but problem still persist. Went to check online again and found that the issue is because there is some incompatible issue between Office 2010 (64bit) and Adobe Reader Plugin~

Check out the root cause from the following URL. You will understand as the folks went deeper in troubleshooting.

http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/worddev/thread/574ac8e4-eb1d-4b63-b70e-32dd0e9025b8

Well, I guess I will have to fall back to XP mode where I will try to install Office 2007 Words for this purpose! Why? I really love the Office 2010 Excel (64bit) performance when sorting rolls of more than 40,000. Rocks! 🙂

For IT Pro out there, do not be afraid to try the 64bit even if you face something similar as I do as we always have XP mode, right? 😛

Cheers.

This entry was posted in Microsoft Office. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Unable to embed PDF file to Office 2010 Word (64Bit)

  1. susan says:

    I have windows 7 but office 2007 and still get the same error message. This used to work but not anymore. Not sure what changed.

Leave a comment