Learning Windows Server 2008 R2 Server Core…

Heard about Server Core of Windows Server 2008 and know about how cool it is but to be honest… the moment you know that you cannot manage it through GUI (Graphic User Interface), you will have 2nd thought?

Today, I am fortunate that I can attend a paid course (People who knows me knew that its rare that I got such chance…). I am very happy with Windows 2008 R2 Server Core as compare to the non R2 version! Why?… I share with you all.

First… there are something call “Sconfig” where you just need to Select what to configure by entering “1” or “2” or “3” and “Enter”!

Configuration such as IP address, DNS configuration, Changing of Computer Name, Join to Domain, Enable MMC Remote Management, Enable Windows PowerShell, Allow Server Manager Remote Management and few more important options. One word to describe my experience – “SIMPLE”.

Unlike what I have seen Demos during TechEd where one need to know the complicated commands…

Ohh.. Did you see that I mentioned enable PowerShell? Hahaha.. Good news! Right? YES! We can run Powershell v2 on Windows 2008 R2 Server Core! 🙂 Why? It is because, Dot Net FrameWork verion 2 is able to be installed on it. So, it made managing of Windows 2008 R2 Server Core simpler!!

However, not everything can be configure using Sconfig and so… one still need to know how to use DISM command to configure it further such as installation of WebServer roles and enable ASP.NET on Windows 2008 R2 Server Core. But this will not stop me from exploring further into Server Core as I see more advantage in it!

GO TRY IT!! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment