GRC – Securable vs Intel Processor Identification Utility

In the past… I was using this little tools from GRC (Gibson Research Corp) – (SECURABLE) to check if machine is Virtual Technology Ready.
 
Recently, by following Microsoft Website which link me to download another utility from Intel to check if our hardware is Intel(R) Virtualization Technology Ready. To my surprise… WOW!!! My laptop which the tool from GRC indicated that I am not ready is READY on the utility from Intel~ (Picture shown below…)
 
 
 
I will definately rebuild this laptop to Win7RC1 to try out the Virtual PC Beta with Windows XP Mode Beta ASAP.
 
UPDATED 2010 15th March – Securable is very accurate after I have tested for a year. And what we found out that not all Quad Core CPU supports Virtualization! Must use the tool from GRC to test. Very accurate.. 🙂
This entry was posted in Intel Virtualization Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to GRC – Securable vs Intel Processor Identification Utility

  1. jc says:

    hello,my english is very pool,i am from china,locked off refers to the CPU support and shield the relevant BIOS options, but INTEL is just a tool for detection of CPU, you can use the tool to view the MSR register 0X3A offset address, pay attention to its BIT 0 and BIT2 (set to open a virtual one that oriented), the relevant settings can be found in INTEL documents.

    • vbzine says:

      No worries about your English is bad or not. As long as I can understand what you mean.

      Thanks! I will definately look into what you suggest. But now.. haha I guess, we do not need to check on the hardware anymore as most of them can support hyper-V.

Leave a Reply

